Cross Country

Lane men win first NWAC title since 1985

11/13/2016 22:48

LACEY, Wash. — The Lane men’s cross country team won the NWAC cross country title Saturday for the first time since 1985, and the Titans’ Lexi Healy was the women’s individual winner at Saint Martin’s University.

The Titans placed all of their five scoring runners in the top 16 to win the men’s team title with 46 points to 49 for Spokane. Clackamas was a distant third with 96 points.
Michael Martin was second overall in the men’s 8,000-meter race in 25:50.9 seconds, finishing 3.5 seconds behind winner Sam Garvin of Clark.

Ben Harter was fifth for Lane (26:19.3), Elmer Shelevy was 11th (26:44.9), Moises Martinez was 12th (26:52.8) and Ben Rodriguez was 16th (27:12.6).

Healy won the women’s 5,000-meter race in 19:00.2, winning by 16.3 seconds over runner-up Kaylee Marquardt of Spokane.
Spokane won the women’s team title with 31 points to 73 for Everett and 80 for Lane.

Lane takes home regional titles

10/30/2016 20:02

OREGON CITY — Lexi Healy won the women’s individual title, and Lane Community College swept the team titles at the NWAC Southern Region Championship cross country meet on Saturday at Clackamas Community College.

The Titans won the women’s title with 33 points, well ahead of second-place Treasure Valley’s 49. The men placed three runners in the top 10 to win the men’s title with 43 points, edging Clackamas, which finished with 48.

Healy completed the 5,000-meter women’s course in 18 minutes, 39.7 seconds to beat Clark’s Cassie McKinney by nearly 9 seconds. Jenna Anderson finished fifth for the Titans in 20:08.6, and Emily Morin was 12th in 21:03.9.

Moises Martinez finished fourth to pace the Lane men, running the 8,000-meter course in 25:55.3. Teammate Michael Martin was sixth in 25:59.2 and Elmer Shelevy was eighth in 26:07.0. Clark’s Sam Garvin won the regional title in 25:35.2, and Clackamas’ Jose Macias was second in 25:45.5.

Lexi Healy Named Athlete of The Week

10/21/2016 20:00

Event: 6 Kilometer Cross Country; Mark: 23:00.5 at George Fox University Cross Country Classic
Nominators' Comments:

  • "A breakout race for Lexi! She placed 5th overall in a competitive field and was the top NWAC finisher."

Under Armour Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Week - Week 3

09/23/2016 13:25

Lane - Freshman

Event: 8 Kilometer Cross Country; Mark: 25:26 at Bill Dellinger Invitational

Nominator Comments:

  • "Michael was the top non-D1 competitor at a competitive Bill Dellinger Invitational with a great time on the 8,000m course of 25:26."

    "Michael placed an impressive 15th overall in a high caliber field that included four D1 schools, including highly ranked UO and University of Portland. He was the top non-D1 finisher and it was his first-ever 8K."

Program Highlights

NWAACC Cross Country All-Americans

Men - 28                 Women - 30

Men's Individual NWAACC Champions

2009 (Cesar Perez), 2006 (Jordan McNamara), 2005 (David Morgan), 1996-97 (Billy Harper), 1995 (James Longoria)

Women's NWAACC Champions

2005, 1987, 1986, 1985

Women's Individual NWAACC Champions

1983 (Jeanie Higinbotham)

Men's Southern Region Champions

2016, 2011, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 1997, 1996, 1988, 1985, 1984

Men's Individual Southern Region Champions

2009 (Travis Stevens), 2007 (Jeremy McAllister), 2006 (Jordan McNamara), 2000 (Rowdy Sargeson), 1997 (Billy Harper), 1995-96 (James Longoria), 1983 (Steve Bronson)

Women's Southern Region Champions

2016, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2005, 2000, 1987, 1986, 1985, 1984, 1983

Women's Individual Southern Region Champions

2011 (Gylany Crossman), 2010 (MaCayla Claver), 2008 (Leah Twombly), 2000 (Amanda Sherland), 1995 (Myriah Coble), 1998 (Jennifer Huff), 1984 (Ann Macklin), 1983 (Pam Vasey)

Men's OCCAA* Champions

1982, 1979, 1978, 1977, 1976, 1975, 1974, 1973, 1971

Men's Individual OCCAA* Champions

1982 (Marty Beauchamp), 1979 (Steve Warrey), 1978 (Dave Magness), 1976-77 (Ken Martin), 1974 (Rod Cooper), 1971-72 (Dale Hammitt), 1969 (Jan McNeale)

Women's OCCAA* Champions

1982, 1981, 1980, 1979

Women's Individual OCCAA* Champions

1982 (Pam Vasey), 1981 (Janet Beaudry), 1980 (Sandy Dickerson)


Former League from 1966-1982