Lane men win first NWAC title since 1985

11/13/2016 22:48

LACEY, Wash. — The Lane men’s cross country team won the NWAC cross country title Saturday for the first time since 1985, and the Titans’ Lexi Healy was the women’s individual winner at Saint Martin’s University.

The Titans placed all of their five scoring runners in the top 16 to win the men’s team title with 46 points to 49 for Spokane. Clackamas was a distant third with 96 points.
Michael Martin was second overall in the men’s 8,000-meter race in 25:50.9 seconds, finishing 3.5 seconds behind winner Sam Garvin of Clark.

Ben Harter was fifth for Lane (26:19.3), Elmer Shelevy was 11th (26:44.9), Moises Martinez was 12th (26:52.8) and Ben Rodriguez was 16th (27:12.6).

Healy won the women’s 5,000-meter race in 19:00.2, winning by 16.3 seconds over runner-up Kaylee Marquardt of Spokane.
Spokane won the women’s team title with 31 points to 73 for Everett and 80 for Lane.